Ankündigung

Einklappen
Keine Ankündigung bisher.

STS-114 - Shuttle-Mission 1 nach dem Columbia-Unglück

Einklappen
X
  • Filter
  • Zeit
  • Anzeigen
Alles löschen
neue Beiträge

    Launch of STS-114:

    T - 000d 05h 09m
    T - 000d 03h 00m ... and holding! Official NASA Countdown (holdings considered!)

    JULY 13, 2005 - 02:51 P.M. CDT (Mission Control, Houston)
    JULY 13, 2005 - 03:51 P.M. EDT (Launch Control, Cape Canaveral)
    JULY 13, 2005 - 21:51 CEST/MESZ (Central Europe)

    Verschiebung des Starts möglich!


    Continue counting at 11:55 a.m. EDT (17:55 CEST)!



    16:07 CEST (10:07 a.m. EDT)

    The MILA tracking station here at Merritt Island has aligned its communications antennas with the launch pad and initial communications checks with the Air Force-controlled Eastern Range have been performed in the past hour. Also, the pre-flight calibration of Discovery's three inertial measurement unit guidance computers began.


    16:10 CEST (10:10 a.m. EDT)

    Discovery's external fuel tank is now full with 528,000 gallons of super-cold liquid oxygen and liquid hydrogen.

    But given the cryogenic nature of the oxidizer and propellant, the supplies naturally boil away. So the tanks are continuously topped off until the final minutes of the countdown in a procedure called "stable replenishment."

    With the hazardous tanking operation completed, the Orbiter Closeout Crew and Final Inspection Team will be dispatched to the pad to perform their jobs. The closeout crew will ready Discovery's crew module for the astronauts' boarding in a couple of hours; and the inspection team will give the entire vehicle a check for any ice formation following fueling.


    16:15 CEST (10:15 a.m. EDT)

    Discovery's seven astronauts are seated around the dining room table in crew quarters for a pre-launch snack. They were awakened at 5:45 a.m. EDT (11:45 CEST) to begin the launch day activities at Kennedy Space Center. Flight engineer Steve Robinson was playing a guitar, which was quite a unique sight.

    After a bite to eat, commander Eileen Collins, pilot Jim Kelly and Robinson will receive a briefing on the weather forecast for KSC and abort landing sites in California, New Mexico, Spain and France. Then they will join their crewmates in the suit-up to don the launch and entry spacesuits in preparation for heading to pad 39B around 12 noon EDT (18:00 CEST).

    The launch team is not tracking any technical issues as the countdown continues on schedule to today's liftoff time of 3:51 p.m. EDT (21:51 CEST). The only concern right now is the weather. Forecasters say there's a 60 percent chance of acceptable conditions at launch time.


    16:19 CEST (10:19 a.m. EDT)

    The Final Inspection Team has been cleared to head for the pad to begin their two-hour observations of the shuttle vehicle. The official fueling completion time was 10:05 a.m. (16:05 CEST).


    16:29 CEST (10:29 a.m. EDT)

    The six-person Orbiter Closeout Crew has arrived in the White Room on the end of the Orbiter Access Arm catwalk that runs from the launch pad tower to Discovery's crew module. They will make final preparations to ready Discovery for the astronaut's arrival about two hours from now.


    16:30 CEST (10:30 a.m. EDT)

    The Final Inspection Team is on the 255-foot level of the launch pad tower as they begin their checks of Discovery.


    Quelle: SpaceflightNow.com



    NASA TV
    Die ISS und die Discovery am Himmel: Heavens-Above

    Kommentar


      Launch of STS-114:

      T - 000d 04h 35m
      T - 000d 03h 00m ... and holding! Official NASA Countdown (holdings considered!)

      JULY 13, 2005 - 02:51 P.M. CDT (Mission Control, Houston)
      JULY 13, 2005 - 03:51 P.M. EDT (Launch Control, Cape Canaveral)
      JULY 13, 2005 - 21:51 CEST/MESZ (Central Europe)

      Verschiebung des Starts möglich!


      Continue counting at 11:55 a.m. EDT (17:55 CEST)!



      16:40 CEST (10:40 a.m. EDT)

      The inspection team is responsible for checking Discovery and the launch pad one last time prior to liftoff. The 8-person team is comprised of engineers and safety officials from NASA, United Space Alliance and tank-builder Lockheed Martin. At the conclusion of their two-hour tour-of-duty, the team will have walked up and down the entire fixed service structure and mobile launcher platform.

      The team is on the lookout for any abnormal ice or frost build-up on the vehicle and integrity of the external tank foam insulation.

      The team uses a portable infrared scanner that gathers temperature measurements on the surface area of the shuttle and can spot leaks. The scanner will be used to obtain temperature data on the external tank, solid rocket boosters, space shuttle orbiter, main engines and launch pad structures. The scanner can also spot leaks of the cryogenic propellants, and due to its ability to detect distinct temperature differences, can spot any dangerous hydrogen fuel that is burning. The team member also is responsible for photo documentation.

      The team wears the highly visible day-glow orange coveralls that are anti-static and flame resistant. Each member also has a self-contained emergency breathing unit that holds about 10 minutes of air.


      16:50 CEST (10:50 a.m. EDT)

      Showers are beginning to develop west of the launch pad, which weather forecasters had expected.


      17:10 CEST (11:10 a.m. EDT)

      The water tank at the pad is being topped off. The water will flood the launch pad in the final 16 seconds of the countdown to suppress the sound produced at liftoff.


      17:15 CEST (11:15 a.m. EDT)

      The rainshowers and increasing cloud cover over Kennedy Space Center seem to be developing at a vigorous rate this morning. Radar shows several showers within 20 miles of the shuttle landing strip, which would violate the emergency landing criteria. Discovery won't be permitted to lift off if the weather is unacceptable at the runway in case the shuttle has to abort the mission in the first minutes of flight and return to KSC.


      Quelle: SpaceflightNow.com





      STS-114 Image Gallery:


      For high resolution images: KSC Multimedia Gallery (Keywords: Discovery or STS-114)


      July 13, 2005



      KSC-05PD-1498 (07/12/2005)
      This view shows the carrier panel on the left Orbital Maneuvering System (OMS) pod on Space Shuttle Discovery. During routine closeouts at Launch Pad 39B, the cover of Discovery’s window number seven, one of the overhead crew cabin windows, fell about 65 feet and hit a carrier panel on the OMS pod, damaging several tiles. The tiles were on a single carrier panel, which fits over the area. A spare carrier panel was taken to the pad and used to replace the damaged panel. The replacement procedure took about an hour to complete. There was no delay to the launch countdown.


      KSC-05PD-1499 (07/12/2005)

      KSC-05PD-1500 (07/12/2005)

      KSC-05PD-1501 (07/12/2005)

      KSC-05PD-1502 (07/12/2005)

      KSC-05PD-1503 (07/12/2005)



      KSC-05PD-1504 (07/12/2005)
      Following rollback of the Rotating Service Structure, the orbiter access arm is able to be extended to Space Shuttle Discovery. The arm provides access into Discovery through the White Room, where the astronauts are checked by the closeout crew. Behind Discovery is the orange External Tank, flanked by the twin white Solid Rocket Boosters.


      KSC-05PD-1505 (07/12/2005)


      Quelle: NASA/KSC




      NASA TV
      Die ISS und die Discovery am Himmel: Heavens-Above

      Kommentar


        Bei aller Liebe und allem Respekt für deinen Ethusiasmus muss meine kleine Spießerseele aber einmal darauf hinweisen, dass Doppel-, Dreier- oder Viererpostings in einer Reihe eigentlich nicht so schön sind, aber wir wollen mal eine Ausnahme machen.

        Ansonsten: Wo hast du das denn her? Poste doch mal den Link.
        "Dem Bericht zufolge wäre es trotz einer nicht ganz vollständigen Befolgung aller Empfehlungen jedoch unzulässig, den Shuttle als unsicher zu bezeichnen."
        Oh oh, da sind aber einige Einschränkungen dabei. Spitzfindige Leute (wie ich ) wissen ja, dass "nicht unsicher" und "sicher" nicht ein und dasselbe sind.
        Republicans hate ducklings!

        Kommentar


          Na ja, da hast du wohl recht.

          Also gut, hier ist der Link:

          http://www.spaceflightnow.com/shuttl...14/status.html

          Ihr könnt ja selber mal reinschauen.

          Kommentar


            Bitte weitermachen

            Kommentar


              Darf ich nicht.

              Aber brauche eh mal ne Pause. Da kommen ja immer wieder neue Nachrichten reingeschneit.

              Ich kann ja vielleicht ne halbe Stunde vor dem Start nochmal Bericht erstatten.

              Kommentar


                Der Moderator ist bestimmt ein Trekkie und interessiert sich nicht für Raumfähren etc. Außerdem hat er gesagt, dass er bei dir eine Ausnahme macht ("aber wir wollen mal eine Ausnahme machen.")

                Kommentar


                  Ich möchte darauf hinweisen, dass ich in dem Thread für das "Google Earth" Programm hier
                  die Koordinaten zu Cape Canaveral bereitgestellt ahbe, also wer sich da mal von oben umsehen will...

                  Und nun...wie gesagt, auch ich fiebere dem Start entgegen und drücke beide Daumen!
                  P.S. Bitte helft Greenpeace und den Weltmeeren, macht hier wenigstens bitte mit: http://oceans.greenpeace.org/de/werd...cean-defender/
                  http://ctk.greenpeace.org/od-de/ctk-...referrer%5fid=
                  Das Volk sollte sich nicht vor dem Staat fürchten, der Staat sollte sich vor dem Volk fürchten! aus "V for Vendetta"

                  Kommentar


                    Okay, aber ich mache jetzt trotzdem erst ne Pause. Ihr habt ja erstmal den Link.

                    Kommentar


                      Zitat von Dryonapse
                      Ich möchte darauf hinweisen, dass ich in dem Thread für das "Google Earth" Programm hier
                      die Koordinaten zu Cape Canaveral bereitgestellt ahbe, also wer sich da mal von oben umsehen will...
                      Hä? Was ist Google Earth?

                      Kommentar


                        Such mal in google nach "Google Earth" dann weißt du es.
                        T-minus 3 hours and counting! It has started raining at the Kennedy Space Center launch area, and the rumble of thunder has been heard.
                        Na ob das noch was wird heute...

                        Kommentar


                          Start wird mit 60%iger Wahrscheinlichkeit verschoben!

                          Kommentar


                            Spitzfindige Leute (wie ich ) wissen ja, dass "nicht unsicher" und "sicher" nicht ein und dasselbe sind.
                            "Sicher" ist doch nur der Tod und die Steuer... sagt man das nicht so bei euch? "Nicht unsicher" ist nun mal in den meisten Fällen die viel ehrlichere Antwort als "sicher". Das gilt von Flugzeugen über Atomkraftwerke und BungeeJumping bis hin zu Raumfähren...

                            EDIT: Zurzeit scheint ja immer noch "Go for Launch!" zu gelten. (nein, nicht "Go for Lunch... wie mein Überich um diese Zeit gerne schreiben würde)

                            http://www.nasa.gov/returntoflight/launch/index.html
                            Planeten.ch - Acht und mehr Planeten (neu wieder aktiv!)
                            Final-frontier.ch - Kommentare vom Rand des Universums

                            Kommentar


                              [Spaßmodus]Also, die wollen vor über dreißig Jahren auf dem Mond gewesen sein, da wo die Technik noch nicht soweit war wie jetzt, und nun fällt das Spaceshuttle schon auseinander, bevor es überhaupt gestartet ist? [/Spaßmodus]
                              Nun spielt auch noch das Wetter einen Streich. Alles Gute ist leider nie beisammen. Egal, ob sie nun früher oder später starten, ich drücke ihnen auf alle Fälle die Daumen!
                              >>>Mein YouTube-Kanal<<<
                              „Um das Herz und den Verstand eines anderen Menschen zu verstehen, schaue nicht darauf, was er erreicht hat, sondern wonach er sich sehnt.“ ~Khalil Gibran~

                              Kommentar


                                Zitat von fexx
                                Der Moderator ist bestimmt ein Trekkie und interessiert sich nicht für Raumfähren etc. Außerdem hat er gesagt, dass er bei dir eine Ausnahme macht ("aber wir wollen mal eine Ausnahme machen.")
                                Der Moderator hat auch einen Namen. Der Rest sind unhaltbare, spekulative Unterstellungen.
                                Kannst aber gerne weitermachen, Chris. Jetzt so kurz vor Schluss brauchst du nun nicht aufhören.


                                "Sicher" ist doch nur der Tod und die Steuer... sagt man das nicht so bei euch? "Nicht unsicher" ist nun mal in den meisten Fällen die viel ehrlichere Antwort als "sicher". Das gilt von Flugzeugen über Atomkraftwerke und BungeeJumping bis hin zu Raumfähren...
                                Zumindest die juristisch geschicktere. Die meisten Leute machen den Unterschied nicht. Gerade dewegen wird man ja wohl noch einmal darauf hinweisen dürfen.

                                NTV will übrigens auch übertragen (für alle, denen N24 aus ganz verschiedenen Gründen eine Nummer zu heftig sein mag. ).
                                Republicans hate ducklings!

                                Kommentar

                                Lädt...
                                X